January 28, 2007

  • Thanks, but….

    Several of you have written very compassionate emails regarding my virus situation, and have included the advice to buy a Mac next time.

    I do appreciate the nearly virus-free world in which Macs operate.  But I have to admit that with all it’s flaws, Windows is still my OS of choice.  I know it’s not for everyone, but I personally take great pleasure in using an OS which is so ultimately user configurable.  I enjoy editing registry files.  I enjoy seeing the intricate mechanics of how the OS is operating and being able to tweak it.  Of course I am well aware that these very options expose Windows to attackers. 

    My computer is now virus free. :)

Comments (6)

  • That’s right Chester!  You tell ‘em.  Don’t let them sway you.  Don’t give in to the overwhelming tide of popular opinion.  Swim upstream- don’t be like everyone else and follow the crowd.  You can do it!  This is sounding stupid.  I’m done.

  • Now Chester, I realize you are a power user and like to get under the hood. And apparently some have given you the mistaken impression that the Mac is so easy to use, that no fine tuning is necessary or even possible. Let me set the record straight: If you like geeky stuff like editing registry files, then you’re sure to love such Mac joys as firing up the terminal and tweaking the UNIX subsystem to your heart’s content. It is true, this is something most users needn’t ever do, but it’s there for the taking for anyone interested. Or for the GUI inclined, there are all kinds of visual manipulations possible. Indeed, it is possible to so tweak the Mac interface that it bears a striking resemblance to Windows (see, for example: http://interfacelift.com/themes-mac/details.php?id=10).

  • I remember when you teased me about applesauce back when I was the only Mac user at OHA. So far, no applesauce. And yes, I am saving for another Mac. I’m not converting anytime soon, although I have to use a PC most of the day at work.

    Sorry about your virus. That’s not fun. Norman’s computer got a trojan or something and so Tim (Arakawa) had to wipe the hard drive clean last night. (Just another reason that I don’t care to convert.)

  • Yay, Mr. Clark!  Stay strong for PCs!  I know how you feel… there’s a constant battle in my house between my brother (who owns one of the newest macs) and the rest of us (who are still strong PC supporters).  I don’t think either side will be surrendering anytime soon, though i have given in and bought an ipod (the one i bought from OHA crashed around christmas, i think i dropped it on tile floors too many times!) anyway, have a great week! Post more, i look forward to reading them.

  • hey mr. c… so good to hear from you… thanks for the few lines that you dropped me… man… you’re in India already!!!? that’s so great… when do you get back??? Hope all is well with you and your PC… : ) Miss you much and hope you come and visit us… we’re doing good … getting adjusted well and have five more months here… so keep praying for us and I am praying for you…ok… love the pix… you look great… nice tan … it’s so good to have one too…!!! KIT and God bless : )

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *